Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.
MAF problems?
Paul-sussex uk - Friday, 7 January, 2011, at 8:05:49 am
Hi folks,

Im a newbie here, so hello everyone.

My Boxster has an irratic tick-over sometimes, I have replaced my O2 lambda sensors, and all is good with them, can someone please let me know what the average MAF sensor readings should be.

I have a feeling my one may not be working as well as it should. I have diagnostic software, however I do not know what the average reading should be on tick-over and while driving. Any help would be appreciated, at least I could then be certain it is or isn't the MAF sensor.

Thanks in adnvance

Paul.
Paul-sussex uk
Hi folks,

Im a newbie here, so hello everyone.

My Boxster has an irratic tick-over sometimes, I have replaced my O2 lambda sensors, and all is good with them, can someone please let me know what the average MAF sensor readings should be.

I have a feeling my one may not be working as well as it should. I have diagnostic software, however I do not know what the average reading should be on tick-over and while driving. Any help would be appreciated, at least I could then be certain it is or isn't the MAF sensor.

Thanks in adnvance

Paul.

Only when teh engine is started from cold, warm, or hot, or varies?

Is the symptom a varying idle speed and what is the variation?

Based on the info you provided, the symptom doesn't sound like it comes from a bad MAF. (I want to say it sounds more like a VarioCam solenoid acting up but my 02 Boxster just had this problem so every erractic tickover is going to make me think VarioCam solenoid for a while...)

Anyhow, you can disconnect the MAF at the wiring harness and see if the symptom is still present.