Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
IMS - my theory
Roger987 - Thursday, 12 December, 2013, at 10:42:26 pm
Disclaimer - I'm not an engineer; I don't even play one on tv. And although there's a train set in a box somewhere in my basement, it's been many, many, decades since I've operated it.

I agree entirely with the proposition that the IMS bearing needs lubrication. After all, it was packed with grease when brand new.

Over time, the seals (sometimes/often/always?) fail, allowing the grease to escape. The grease is replaced by engine oil which sneaks in past the same seals that allowed the grease to escape. I don't know whether the oil and grease high-5 each other as they migrate past the seal - maybe they're pals, maybe they aren't.

So, in time, the bearing is being lubricated not by grease, but by engine oil. Change the engine oil frequently, use good oil (no, I'm not going THERE), and the bearing will likely last longer, based on the premise that the oil in the bearing will, over time, be 'refreshed' with newer oil. Otherwise, that oil will become, as Pedro says, 'rancid'. And rancid is bad. The very word sounds bad. 'Rancid'.

Removing the outside seal to the bearing (new or old, ceramic or steel) will provide splash lubrication. But, splash lubrication probably isn't sufficient.

Pedro's clever DOF provides a stream of oil to the bearing (with the seal removed) which will undoubtedly be superior to 'splash' lubrication.

So far, so good.

BUT....

Using the DOF requires removing the seal. As a result, no longer are the bearing balls enclosed in a (more or less) sealed area, lubricated by the (more or less) trapped engine oil (formerly grease).