Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
While my 14-year-old summer-only 986 S has low miles (38k), I'm wondering if there's any common 'defensive practice' advising preemptive replacement of the water pump due to age? Nothing is leaking, the bearings seem fine - should I bother?

Thanks,
John L
Boston
2001 986 S
It doesn't make sense to me to do that, but I'm no expert. BTW: I also have a 2001 986 S with about the same mileage....we need to drive more!
I replaced my water pump after seeing the story in the August 2012 Excellence on water pump failures. Seemed like cheap insurance. The issue is with the plastic impeller breaking up and bits clogging up channels in the cooling system.
I have a 1999 car with 38K miles too. I just did mine while doing fluid changes etc… I do 95% of all my work myself. Main reasons I did it were the impeller blade issue and the fact that if I was on the road on a weekend trip it would cost a ton more to have a failure in that situation… DIY for pump and stat = $350-$400. Tow and reputable shop to do it would be 2-3X that. If DIY and you amortize the cost over miles and years, it's very cheap insurance assuming your not going to drive current pump up to 75K miles, even if it lasted that long… Fixing broken blade in the system at a later time only more time and money to resolve….
Also, IF you have not done motor mount, it's great time for that too… I bought the Lumfoerder (sp?) bushing and had napa push out old and new in. Having mount out allows you to get to pump bolts easier, esp if you want to torque them to spec… Replaced a month ago and done limited driving but mount feels good.

NOTE: My pump looked perfect. No broken blades yet. My motor mount was showing some sign of cracking…. I change coolant (porsche brand) every five years and mix with distilled water.