Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.
Hi everyone, newbie here!

Like most of you I have always dreamt of someday owning a porsche and i may now be in a position to do so...albeit a used one lol...have to start somewhere!

Im currently looking at a 2012 cayman s black edition with manual tranny. I test drove it yesterday and liked it but really, i have nothing to compare it to since its the first one i have ever driven.

I was hoping you all could give me any 'heads up' on what to look out for as far as potential trouble goes...

Currently has 45000 KMs on it and is asking less than 60K CDN...no warranty unless i purchase one for $5-7000.

My impressions from driving it (aside from the good things) was that the engine sounded rough...perhaps this is a Porsche characteristic? And the shifting was very tight ...but ive read on here that this is typical...
Ive read about some oil deprivation/consumption issues and seals/rings going...Can anyone shed some light on this potential purchase of mine?

Re price, i checked the black book website and basically the trade in value it gave me is pretty much what the dealer is asking...which scares me. Especially for a car that is limited.

Any help from you all is greatly appreciated!
First, welcome to the board. Many of us where in the same shoes as you at some point, getting into their first Porsche.