Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
CEL
JackintheBoxster - 7 years ago
This is a somewhat dopey question I know, but please bear with me.

My CEL light has been going on for several months. My mechanic, who I trust, reset it several times, and said it was not major, but finally it was driving me nuts and he went into the engine and replaced some air tubes and other exhaust-related components and the car drove find for about 500 miles. Then the light went on again and I'd like to wait until he gets back into town at the end of the month to let him check it out, thinking this is likely to be something minor, but as I'm not a mechanic, I could use some advice, particularly since Ihave two 300-mile trips planned in the next couple of weeks. My question is whether problems indicated by a CEL tend to minor enough that I can probably drive the car for three weeks and wait for him to return or whether these problems are something that should prevent me from taking the risk.

2001 Base, purchased in 2004, replaced engine at 130K+, RIP 2017
Re: CEL
CarreraLicious - 7 years ago
You need to tell us the code that is triggered. Once you have the code, post it here and folks can help you diagnose. I just had a CEL pop up a week or so ago, and have a cheap code reader that told me it's code P1411. You can buy these readers for like $35 bucks or just drive to an Autozone and you can borrow one of theirs for free to get the code. You have the option then to erase the CEL but then note that when you do this, it also clears out all the readiness codes so you will need to drive the car a while to allow all the readiness codes to activate on your car again prior to a state inspection.