Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
Low mileage and got it at a great price.

Regarding perf. mods, we never did any to our 06, save Pedro's rear brace, so I have no experience to share with him.

Has anyone modded their 987 2.7L --software, exhaust or other mods-- that added enough of a bump in performance to make it worthwhile?
I agree with Grant.

I'd think that first it's a great idea to learn just what this car can do. Drive it for a while and with experience, you might find some changes / upgrades that you might want to make.

The only performance related mod I made to my '06 was adding the short shifter, which just added to the enjoyment of driving experience, along with slightly quicker shifts.

Unless you're prepared to spend some serious coin, you might be able to get some very modest power increases. Most of them, though, are more in the iHP category. winking smiley

If it's all about 0 - 60 times, he could always go that "crossing a Croc and a Horse" route. smiling smiley
The closest one is in Warren, OH about 2 hours way--which makes it tough sell for roughly 10 minutes of seat time/event.

Not sure how much of that he wants to do anyway-- it seemed he was more interested in bumping the power a bit just for street use.

The Softronic tune runs $900 combined with UDP, air filter and cat back might give him 25HP or so but my rough math puts that at about $3.5k (P+L) or $140/HP which is pretty dear.
Lots of money for small improvements. And, to be honest, no one needs that power on the street. My base 2004 (224 hp?) is not entirely usable on the street within anything vaguely resembling social bounds.