Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.
Greetings! I'm new here but I've owned my 02 automatic Boxster about 5 years. Just love it but I have to admit it has issues and I also admit I'm a terrible mechanic. I need help! Last March, it overheated and because my dash lights kept blinking out (like a loose ground), I didn't see the temp rising or the warning light right away. I tapped the dash to get the gauges back when I smelled antifreeze and of course, pulled over right away. I had it towed home but I did not necessary locate the issue even with the help of a retired mechanic. I haven't driven it much since (one trip,15 miles) and I've had to recharge the battery several times. I had my hardtop off for several months and this may have started a new problem. I went to start it and hieroglyphics showed up on the instruments. Some warning lights came off and on. No starter sound at all but the windows or doors were clicking. I put it on the charger again and when my mechanic friend arrived the next day, we tried it again and no joy but the instruments panel illuminated. I had the battery checked because that was free and easy. My Bentley is in the truck which won't open. I left the frunk ajar after having these issues. The frunk light does not come on. Now a week later, I tried the ignition again, no dash lights but I hear the clicking again. Could it be the immobilizer? I'm 2-3 hours away from a dealer.
... sorry to hear about your Boxster troubles.
Most of what you've explained can be attributed to a bad battery.
The clicking sound you hear when starting is a solenoid. This happens because of low voltage from the battery.
If the immobilized was the issue you should not even hear the solenoid.
Why don't you try installing a new battery and see what happens.
Happy Boxstering,
Pedro

Pedro Bonilla
1998 Boxster 986 - 311,000+ miles: [www.PedrosGarage.com]