Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.
Wow!
Guenter in Ontario - 5 years ago
Looks like Porsche didn't just cut two cylinders off the flat six. They also moved things around to create an extra "challenge" for servicing. Makes you wonder how much the dealers will charge for THAT oil change.
Re: Wow!
MikenOH - 5 years ago
Guenter in Ontario
Looks like Porsche didn't just cut two cylinders off the flat six. They also moved things around to create an extra "challenge" for servicing. Makes you wonder how much the dealers will charge for THAT oil change.

Maybe they are moving back to those extended oil change intervals smiling smiley.
It's been a while since I've had a dealer supply the oil,filter and labor to do a change but this definitely looks more labor intensive and therefore more expensive.
I'm no engineer but it appears that access to the oil drain and filter definitely took a backseat to other concerns with the engine compartment layout for some reason that isn't apparent.
the air cooled folks were passing that one around back in 97-98...so the new process seems better smiling smiley
.. the oil filter. The oil drain/add part is quite easy. So why is it there? And what is the "funnel"?I wonder if this has something to do with a better integrated "dry" sump design? I know they are far less prone to starvation; bigger internal storage that demands a different - and awful - filter location?

I wonder if there is a work around. Amazing that i have not heard about this. I guess no one changes their own oil.

Pedro? You must see them

Grant

Grant

gee-lenahan-at-gee-mail-dot-com