Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
Hi Folks, I'm new to this.
2000 Boxster, barn find.
Key won't turn in lock and thus can't turn steering wheel.
Replaced electronic ignition part–no change. Can't pull key tumbler out as I can't turn to position 1.
I've been trying to get the ignition "pistol" assembly off from the steering column but the spring loaded button has only a depressed button that is just below flush with the assembly housing. It won't budge despite all sorts of encouragement. I'm stuck and my last, desperate thought is to sawsall the pistol off and then try to dislodge the stuck parts. Desperate , I know.
Any insight would be very, very welcome. Thanks. Te
If the car has its wheels turned to one side or flat, it will put a lot of pressure on the steering lock, not allowing you to turn the key.
If this is the case, you can help by tugging on the steering wheel to release the tension on the lock.
Hope this helps.
Happy Boxstering,
Pedro

Pedro Bonilla
1998 Boxster 986 - 311,000+ miles: [www.PedrosGarage.com]
PCA National Club Racing Scrutineer - PCA National HPDE Instructor - PCA Technical Committee (Boxster/Cayman)

Racecar spelled backwards is Racecar

"Racing is life. Anything before or after is just waiting" ... Steve McQueen as Michael Delaney in "LeMans"

"If you wait, all that happens is that you get older"... Mario Andretti

"Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose" ... Ayrton Senna
Thanks Pedro,
Yeah, I've been tugging on this but it still won't release. I assume that it has "frozen" in place and that the missing or broken " button" on the pistol to release the pistol from the steering column may be at the center of the problem. I wasn't sure if the release was only mechanical or was electrically activated. Thanks for any further thoughts.
Alignment