Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
I'm fairly new to Porsche ownership, but my experience with the brand goes back to my childhood. I'm a California ex-pat, part of a Ligurian fishing family from Santa Cruz. Sometime in the 50's I was at a family funeral when I overheard my uncles talking about one of their cousins who had this Porsche and was having problems with it because it had this temperamental crankshaft. At the time I was clueless but later learned it was an early Carrera 4-cam. But the seed was planted. I started to notice 356's around town and while I was working for my uncles, who had the Lincoln-Mercury dealership in town, got to drive a 1965 356SC convertible that belonged to a local radiologist who took the car to the dealership regularly to get it washed and detailed. Living on the Central Coast I was into sailing and the races at Laguna Seca where Porsches were the giant killers. In early 1965 I drove to Wester Porsche in Monterey to look at what had to be one of the first 911s in the US. Over the years I was always in a circle of friends with Porsches. A grammar school classmate, Bill Doyle, became one of the leading 4-cam experts in the world (he sadly passed away a couple years ago). My first cousin, the son of one of my car dealer uncles, has always been a serious Porsche enthusiast, racing them, restoring them and selling them. He even managed to get the 959 certified in the US after many years of effort.