Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
Error code 491 492
The Dell - Sunday, 8 September, 2013, at 8:30:12 am
Hi, I'm new to Pedro's Board and I appreciate the info from its members. My problem, my engine light on my 05 Boxter comes on every 3 to 4 k . Error code 491 492, Dealer in Raleigh NC found small amount of oil that has harden coming out of the manifold on one side of engine. They tell me that it's possible that oil leaking into some secondary air passage that supply air to the Catalytic converter need to be cleaned out. They quoted about $400 just to drop manifold and wasn't sure on how long to clean out air passage. Not sure where oil is coming from possible a leaky valve? I hate to spend a lot of $ only to find the engine light will continue to come on after they clean the air passages....any one have similar problem ..
My info is...
MarcW - Sunday, 8 September, 2013, at 2:11:33 pm
My info is:

P0491: Factory Fault Code 591 - Fan output stage 3 Open circuit, below limit, or above limit

P0492: Secondary air injection system, Bank 2 Below limit.

Looks like something related to the secondary air injection system. The errors are rare in my experience.

I did a search and found this:

P0491 Secondary Air Injection System, Bank 1 - Insufficient Flow
P0492 Secondary Air Injection System, Bank 2 - Insufficient Flow