Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.
Stripped oil drain plug....
grant - Monday, 30 July, 2012, at 7:05:42 pm
oh yes, I did.

So anyway, its in there, and no 8mm allen will take it out. I have several new plugs on order, but for now, i need to get this one out.

What is the preferred tool? A regular Irwin or Alden bolt extractor kit? Do i need to drill any more?

Better idea? I can;t be the first [idiot].

Grant

Grant

gee-lenahan-at-gee-mail-dot-com
The 8mm allen tool recepticle is rounded
grant - Monday, 30 July, 2012, at 9:27:08 pm
i need an "easy-out" type tool. There are many kinds. I guess i'm sufficiently charmed that i have limited experience...

Grant

Grant

Re: The 8mm allen tool recepticle is rounded
dghii - Monday, 30 July, 2012, at 10:35:03 pm
No need for an easy out yet...
1. You can try a socket that is close (even SAE) and tap it in with a hammer.
2. Vice grips.
3. Take a chisel and hammer and tap on the outside edge of the drain plug (this worked for me)

Make sure you get a couple of extra plugs, or get a magnetic plug.

dghii
2000 Boxster S 6speed 112k miles
How did you get vice-grips on it?
grant - Tuesday, 31 July, 2012, at 8:28:31 am
SAE sizes, as well as next allen, jump too radically to be possible.

Chisel....hmmmm dont want to hurt anything.

How did you grab with vice-grips?

I have several on order. From now on i'll change it every few oil changes.

Thanks for the suggestions.

Grant

Grant

Re: How did you get vice-grips on it?
dghii - Tuesday, 31 July, 2012, at 5:03:19 pm
Well the vice grips didn't work but I did try it a couple of different ways....around the diameter of the plug seemed like it might go but I just couldn't quite get it.