Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
how to tell I need new clutch
boxster99 - Friday, 5 April, 2013, at 9:00:05 am
Hi folks,

What symptoms should I look for to tell that I need new clutch? It is not slipping or anything right now but it is sometimes hard to shift when it is cold.

I am not a mechanic nor expert on car. I am thinking about replacing my '99 35K miles clutch (and LN IMS at the same time) I assume I have a double bearing IMS?
If I do, what price range would it cost me.

Thanks,
Tony
Re: how to tell I need new clutch
Rob in CO - Friday, 5 April, 2013, at 9:48:44 am
Typical symptoms are engagement higher and higher on the pedal and various rattles and noises. 35K is pretty young for an unabused clutch as the wear/friction parts don't really deteriorate just with age. The dual mass flywheel might, I suppose but I think it also wears more by mileage. They all shift a bit hard when cold so don't use that as a symptom. Make your judgement when the car is fully warmed up.

As far as cost...I have never done one but I think $2K parts and labor for clutch give or take depending on which shop you go to. LN IMS adds $700 or so in parts and a few hundred more in labor, I would guess as most of the work is shared with the clutch replacement. I would do RMS as well while they are there. It would add very little to the overall cost.

Someone who has had the work done can weigh in with a more accurate opinion on the cost. It is probably a next year project for me so I would like to know as well.
car doesnt go :-)
grant - Friday, 5 April, 2013, at 9:54:40 am
More seriously:

1. drive down street. Put car in higher gear (4-6). Floor it. Does it slip at all? --> yes
2. Is the pedal getting really tough to push? --> yes

Tell us more about "tough to shift when cold". Get really specific.