Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
I certainly have my opinions, but i'm looking to those who have gone through track/AutoX setup and gained some first hand experience.

My new project car feels pretty good, although i am still learning it and how it communicates. But long story short, at Sundays Autocross, it showed significant tendency to break away at the rear and over-steer. I experienced it, as did a national top solo competitor who had trouble taming it at the limit.

Some obvious choices are rear tire pressure; front sway bar choice (note: i have 200k old bushings in the front and need to replace them with the new units sitting on my work-bench)

For the record i'm on PSS9s, standard PSS9 springs, all 4 corners set the same, new BFG g-force rivals, 255/40 rear 225/45 front (slight oversize front), technobrace, tarrett toe links.

No whacky alignment settings that i'm aware of - nearly zero toe all around and max camber with zero cross.

Grant

Grant

gee-lenahan-at-gee-mail-dot-com
How much rear camber do you have?
IIRC, more camber in the rear reduces over steer.

Changes your tires pressures? a bit more in the rear/ a bit less in front?

Firmer damper setting in front, softer in rear?

I know there is a link on changing the characteristics of understeer/oversteer by various means; if I find it I'll post it.

Found several--[www.timskelton.com]

[www.aaronsautos.co.uk]

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 08/14/2013 11:02AM by MikenOH. (view changes)
Thanks, all on my list of possibilities. As to camber
grant - Wednesday, 14 August, 2013, at 11:47:04 am
R -2.1
F -1.3

Both at limit for near zero cross camber

Grant

Grant