Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!
Tire Rack: Revolutionizing tire buying since 1979.
Buying through this link, gets PB a donation.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
Accusump installation.
Pedro (Odessa, FL) - Friday, 23 September, 2011, at 9:26:32 pm
A couple of people had asked me about my Accusump installation.
As far as I know, most have used the oil filter adaptor to hook up to the Accusump.
Doing the installation in that manner means that you need to use a half-sized oil filter which is only good for 1,500 miles or so and it also means that you have to use an extra-long oil hose, neither of which I wanted to do.

So, I studied the M96 engine and came up with an alternative solution which I think works even better.

The M96 engine pumps oil through the oil heat exchanger in order to cool it down.
I figured that this point (top of the exchanger) would make a perfect connecting point for the Accusump and is near enough to the rear trunk to use a 24 inch hose.

I punched (can't drill because of the danger of leaving metal flakes in the exchanger) a hole at the top of the exchanger and welded an aluminum pressure fitting

I then connected one end of a steel braided line and secured it to the top of the block with tie wraps

Then I punched a hole into the trunk, just under and to the left of the coolant reservoir and put a rubber grommet to protect the line, passed the other end of the line and installed the fitting.

I then tapped into the wire harness in the trunk to power the electrical oil valve and installed a switch

Finally I installed a dry quick disconnect coupling so that I can unplug the Accusump and use the full trunk space when my wife comes along.

Then it was just mounting the steel clamps to a piece of 1/4 plywood which is also secured to the floorboard.

An here's how it looks in the trunk