Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile
Celebrating 10 years of PedrosBoard!

Expect the best, and accept no substitute.

Products for your Boxster, Cayman and Carrera.
Somewhere below, I think there's another prediction of the death of manual transmissions.

It may happen, certainly, but I have to say I've been hearing that manual shifting was dead for at least 30 years (CVTs?). It may be that various automatics will win, but in my experience there are substantial numbers of drivers who want to shift, and it is not just car nuts or even just men, or even older drivers. I was talking with a young (20s) woman of my acquaintance who told me that she preferred a manual and that driving with an automatic was not driving but playing a video game. Not the comparison that would have occurred to me, but pretty apt, I thought.

2001 Base, purchased in 2004, replaced engine at 130K+, RIP 2017
In my opinion, I think as long as there are internal combustion engines, there will always be some folks who still will prefer to drive stick, and so if there's a demand, someone will make it. However, if all cars move to electric in the future, I think the stick will be gone.
doesn't offer a manual transmission in the car in which you want the manual transmission you are out of luck.

Given Porsche's model line up it is being forced to offer automatics to help its overall fuel consumption and CO2 emissions numbers. As a result more and more models are coming with automatics (PDK) transmissions only.

As engines advance and become ever more powerful there is the no so small expense of updating the manual transmission or even coming with a new one to handle the increased output. At some point the cost to do this becomes unacceptable because there are too few models sold to recover the cost.
... if they are track junkies (as many Porsche owners are) then PDK is the way to go.